LanSchool provides the ability to mass deploy the LanSchool Student client for macOS through the creation of a custom installation
package. Once this package has been created, you will be able to use your
software distribution system to push the package out and install it.
Using a remote software deployment tool (e.g. ARD, JAMF), deploy the LanSchool custom installer package to student devices. The specific steps will vary depending on the deployment tool you are using. Please refer to your vendor's documentation.
The LanSchool package should always be installed as the root user or equivalent. When the client package has finished installing, the client will start running automatically.
macOS 15.0 (Sequoia) Privacy Prompts
Apple's operating system macOS 15.0 (Sequoia) will now issue 2 privacy prompts on the student devices.
Screen Recording Prompt
The LanSchool Classic application has been approved for Screen Recording but a prompt will pop up occasionally.
This prompt will give students two options: continue to allow screen recording for one month or allow them to disable the approval.
- If the Screen Recording approval was approved by an administrator, students (Standard Users) cannot disable the approval.
- If the MDM setting "Allow Standard User to Set System Service" was set and the Screen Recording approval was approved by students (Standard Users), students will be able to disable the approval.

If the student has disabled the approval, the student thumbnail will display a message saying Screen Recording was not approved.
Disabling Screen Recording Prompt
This prompt can be suppressed using the provided Custom Configuration Profile.
Using your Mobile Device Management (MDM) system, upload the profile. The profile will need to be a device profile rather than a user profile.
This setting will only work for macOS version 15.3 or greater.
Allow Privacy Approval Screen Prompt
At random, students may see a prompt appear to allow LanSchool Student Privacy Approvals to find devices on local networks.
Selecting either option will not prevent the client from working.
At this time there is no way to prevent this prompt from appearing.